Tampilkan postingan dengan label Foods used in vegetarian cuisine. Tampilkan semua postingan
Tampilkan postingan dengan label Foods used in vegetarian cuisine. Tampilkan semua postingan

Senin, 07 Desember 2009

Foods used in vegetarian cuisine

Food usually regarded as suitable for all types of the vegetarian cuisine usually include:
Honey is consumed by most vegetarians, except that most vegans exclude it from their diet.
• Cereals/grains: maize, hempseed, corn, wheat, rice, barley, sorghum, millet, oats, rye, triticale, buckwheat, fonio, quinoa; derived products such as flour (dough, bread, pasta, baked goods).
• Vegetables (fresh or pickled) and mushrooms (though some strict Indian vegetarians do not eat mushrooms); derived products such as vegetable fats and oils
• Fruit (fresh or dried)
• Legumes: beans (including soybeans and soy products such as tempeh, tofu, soy milk, and TVP), chickpeas, peas, lentils, peanuts)
• Tree nuts and seeds
• Spices and herbs
• Other foods such as seaweed (however seaweed is considered inedible by some strict vegetarians for the same reason it can be considered as non-kosher by some: the possibility that various tiny animals may be found adhering to it.
Food suitable for several types of the vegetarian cuisine:
• Dairy products (milk, butter, cheese (except for cheese containing rennet of animal origin), yogurt (excluding yogurt made with gelatin), etc) – not eaten by vegans and pure ovo-vegetarians
• Eggs – not eaten by vegans and pure lacto-vegetarians
• Honey – not eaten by most vegans

Article Source : www.wikipedia.org